A. L. and Samintha Coffey Dawkins came to Marceline from a farm in North Missouri, Schuyler County in 1889 with their three children, William, Bertha (Mrs. Ed. F. Hayden), and Jewell (Mrs. Charles Willis, Kansas City, Kansas).
Mr. Dawkins bought a half interest in a furniture store, which was called Finnell and … > More >
Hezekiah Anderson, a son of John and Mary Hubbard Anderson, was born December 6, 1851 on the Anderson farm seven miles north of Marceline. He lived on this farm, affectionately termed “the old home place” for about thirty-five years, then moved to a farm three miles northwest of where Marceline was later located. “Uncle … > More >
Up to the period when Mayor Cash took the oath of office, the city was entirely without fire-fighting apparatus. Insurance rates were high, the fire record was bad, and many of the first companies were closing their agencies and withdrawing from the town. Among the first acts of the new administration was the submission of … > More >
In May, 1870, a group of hardy young settlers met in the Locust Ridge school house to arrange for a place of burial against the time of need. They were building a new community on the wild prairies of southeast Linn County. Elmwood Cemetery, established June 11, 1870, was the outgrowth of that meeting.
Erastus … > More >
Twilight Chapter #66, Order of Eastern Star, was organized in 1897. Marceline was about twelve years old, primitive to say the least. Board walks, heavy lumber was laid for street crossings. There were just dirt streets and much mud when winter came. It was not uncommon for the grocery wagon to bog down and the … > More >
The Sorosis Club was organized in 1928 as the first Junior Federated Club in Third District M. F. W. C. under the sponsorship of Sorosis, the first Senior Federated Club in Marceline. At that time a Sorosis member, Mrs. Sig Steiner, was president of Third District and it was through her efforts that club plans … > More >
Although liquidated ten years ago, the McAllister Creamery & Bottling Works, operating as “Marceline’s First Factory” from 1923 until 1953, played a significant role in the growth and development of Marceline. Any history of Marceline would be incomplete without proper mention of the McAllister firm, as well as the McAllister family itself, for the public … > More >
St. Francis Hospital as it is known today, originated as a ten-bed structure built in 1923 by Floyd Neiman, Marceline Contractor, for Ola Putman. M. D., as a memorial to his father, Benjamin S. Putman, M. D., who had served the Marceline area forty-seven years as physician and surgeon. He called it the … > More >